‘My Granny Went to Market’ – Barefoot Books Review

For as long as I can remember, I have loved books. Looking at picture books, reading books, attempting to write books, finding books no one else around me had read… books have always been a part of my life. I think it stems from my Dad reading to me from a ridiculously young age, (probably in utero!) but it is one thing I can’t thank him enough for.

I have wanted my boys to have the same love of books that I have. Since they were born, I have read to them (nearly) every night. There are times where they will go and choose books, from their ridiculously huge collection, and are quite happy to sit for an afternoon and just listen to me read to them. I love it.

On twitter recently, I was lucky enough to win a children’s book from the lovely Natasha of @BarefootHello. Natasha is an advisor for Barefoot Books and sent me out a copy of “My Granny Went to Market – A Round the World Counting Rhyme” by Stella Blackstone and Christopher Corr.

my-granny-went-to-market

The ethos and core values behind Barefoot Books are fantastic.

At Barefoot Books, we celebrate art and story that opens the hearts and minds of children from all walks of life, focusing on themes that encourage independence of spirit, enthusiasm for learning and respect for the world’s diversity. The welfare of our children is dependent on the welfare of the planet, so we source paper from sustainably managed forests and constantly strive to reduce our environmental impact. Playful, beautiful and created to last a lifetime, our products combine the best of the present with the best of the past to educate our children as the caretakers of tomorrow.

My Granny Went to Market is a beautiful book, following Granny as she takes a round-the-world trip on a flying carpet. From each location, she collects souvenirs which are representative of that country. The illustrations in the book are fantastic and each different country’s culture is represented through these vivid, colourful drawings – albeit slightly stereotypically. The rhyme, illustrations and counting patterns would really appeal to children of a pre-shool age, although my 3 year old loved the book just as much as his brother! This book is a fantastic tool for introducing counting, number patterns and other cultures to your child.

Example of an interior page

Example of an interior page

My boys absolutely loved this book. So much so it has been to bed with them, to their grans and even on the bus. The illustrations have so much going on in them that they were looking at them for ages to see what they could find. Aiden was full of questions about Africa and Australia and Russia afterwards so this is definitely a fantastic book for introducing children to our multi-cultural world. As I said before, the cultures portrayed are slightly stereotypical – but for a young child it is a starting block of knowledge that can be expanded as they get older.

Natasha has introduced me and my boys to a fantastic company and a beautiful, creative set of books. I can’t thank her enough!

Visit Natasha’s Barefoot Books website here and use the discount code GIRAFFE for an amazing 25% off! The boys have already chosen what books they want next! Natasha also runs regular competitions on her twitter and you can follow her @BarefootHello.

008010013

Again, visit www.lifeisbetterbarefoot.co.uk and use the discount code GIRAFFE for 25% off of these amazing books.

The Southside Girl x

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

