Fat Fighting Friday – Week 2

Ok, so I’m going to be completely honest from the outset here. This week I have had a few (alot) of breaks from the plan.

Whoops.

On Saturday, the hubby decided a takeaway was in order, and I’d had such a crappy day that I didn’t need to be asked twice (clear comfort eater. I know.) but I did manage to make some good choices…sort of. Instead of a full plate of chicken tikka, mountains of rice, paratha, poppadoms and curry sauce, I had half a plate of salad, a couple of spoonfuls of plain rice and two pieces of chicken tikka. So it could have been alot worse.

Sunday… well, this was our day at the races. As part of our package, we were given vouchers for burgers and wine. Uuuurgh. I just can’t say no to free food or alcohol. One massive burger (topped with fried onions, cheese and tomato sauce obviously) and two glasses of rose wine later – I was well on my way to regaining the 4.5lbs I’d lost last week. Raging.

Tuesday… Well, me and the best friend headed to The Big Reunion tour at the SECC. It was amazing. Everyone loves a bit of nostalgic cheesy music! Realized I still have my Irish jig a la B*witched down to a tee. Clearly there are no end to my talents 😉 On the downside, the two bottles of Magners Berry Cider were not my best idea….considering they are 14syns each. Whoops. Again.

Wednesday came, and some serious damage control had to be administered. I had no carbs and drank about 4 litres of water. I also bit the bullet and joined the gym. Yes that’s right you read it here. I actually walked into a gym and did exercise. Real sweaty exercise. I joined CURVES at Shawlands. It’s a womans only gym and is based around a 30 minute circuit. They also do classes like Zumba, Metafit and Powerhoop and having been there twice, all the girls seem really nice and can’t do enough for you. It feels like having a personal trainer….which is exactly what I need! The old thighs are burning as I write this but it’ll all be worth it (so i keep telling myself!)

curves

So, yesterday was weigh in day. I went, fully expecting to have gained all the weight I lost last week. I was even considering not going, but I decided facing up to my bad BAD choices this week was the only way to deal with it. So i went along and….

1.5lbs off!

Clearly, the weight loss fairy is on my side this week…but I’m sure she is going to bite me on the arse next week! That is a 6lb loss in 2 weeks and I am completely over the moon.

imagesCALSF02W

This week I have nothing planned so am hoping to stick to plan 100%. Only 1lb to go to reach that half a stone and I’m determined to get it off next week! Fingers crossed!

Recipe Idea!

017Chicken Tikka Skewers, with peppers and onions, served with potato and pea curry and a tomato and onion salad, with rocket and spinach.

Free on Extra Easy.

What you’ll need for the Chicken Tikka Skewers:

Chicken breasts, diced

One green pepper, diced

One onion, diced

Bamboo skewers (soaked in water first)

For the marinade:

Natural yoghurt

Tikka Seasoning

Chilli Powder

Lemon Juice

Mix the natural yoghurt, lemon juice, tikka seasoning(to your own taste) and chilli powder (also to your own taste) in a bowl. Add the diced chicken breast and leave to marinade in the fridge for as long as you can, at least for an hour but overnight is preferable.

Once marinated, skewer the pieces of chicken, with the peppers and onions onto the bamboo skewers. Preheat the oven to gas mark 6 and cook the skewers for 20 minutes, turning occasionally.

What you’ll need for the potato and pea curry:

One tin new potatoes

One tin garden peas

One tip chopped tomatoes

Garlic

Chopped onion

Curry powder

Chilli powder

Vegetable stock

Brown the onions and garlic in a pot with some Fry Light. Add the chopped tomatoes, curry powder (to taste) chilli powder (to taste) and the tin of potatoes and peas (drained first) Add a sufficient amount of vegetable stock to ensure there will be enough sauce, cover and simmer for 10-15 minutes. Et voila.

Hopefully I will be back next week to fill you in on getting my first shiney sticker award! Until then it should be back to blogging business as usual.

If any of you are following diets or healthy eating plans…how are you getting on? Would love to hear from you!

The Southside Girl x

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

