Fat Fighting Friday – Week 3

Half

Oh yes, after yesterday’s weigh in I am now the proud owner of my half stone award sticker! Over the moon is an understatement!

I lost 2.5lbs at my third weigh in taking my total loss to 8.5lbs in 3 weeks. It might not be coming off at super speed, but it is coming off and I don’t feel like I’m on a diet at all with the amount of food I’m able to eat!

I’ve realised that staying to class for Image therapy is a massive thing for me. During the week I find myself thinking back to a recipe someone mentioned, or an overall amount of weight another person has lost and I feel that it really does spur me on. My class is really lovely and supportive aswell, which clearly helps alot! Plus, it’s always nice to be in amongst a group of people who know exactly how you are feeling and what you are going through when it comes to weight and food issues.

This week, I decided it was time to introduce the infamous Scan Bran to my diet. To most people on the Slimming World plan, Scan Bran can be a lifesaver. It is a dense fibre – kind of like Ryvita but alot more….cardboardy. Of course, being a weirdo, I actually quite enjoyed it! I’ve seen recipes where you can make cakes out of Scan Bran so i might attempt some of them this week (Curly wurly cake…oh yes!)

I’ve also managed to the gym every day this week which is a complete turnaround for me! I’ve spent the past 5 years declaring myself allergic to exercise but I seem to have caught the bug now! The Curves gym I go to is absolutely amazing! I’ve actually been looking forward to going and have managed to talk my mum into signing up aswell! It’s a 30 minute circuit, and at the moment my gym is also doing a bootcamp alongside the circuit. It’s easy to fit into your day which suits me perfectly! I would definitely recommend Curves to people who are wanting to get back in to exercising but are too intimidated by the thought of a busy gym packed with body builders, size 8’s and people who never seem to sweat (how do they do that?!)

WHAT’S BEEN ON THE MENU THIS WEEK?

I’ve had such a busy week this week that I’ve been going for food that is quick and easy to prepare and cook. My old George Foreman has been a lifesaver this week!

007

This is cajun spiced chicken, grilled on the George Foreman after being sprinkled with Schwartz cajun spice. I grilled 3 bacon medallions and cut any excess fat off and served these on a bed of baby spinach, celery, cherry tomatoes, baby red peppers and red onions. I then squeezed over some lemon juice. Quick and delicious! And absolutely no syns.

003

Again, cajun spiced chicken breast. Clearly a favourite of mine but it really is so easy and quick. This time I served it with my own version of pico de gallo, a baked potato with my HEA cheese and a spinach, celery and red pepper salad. I also used 1 syn for 2 tablespoons of Nando’s medium peri peri sauce (0.5 syns per tablespoon). For my pico de gallo, I chop cherry tomatoes, one red onion and a few jalapenos and marinade it in loads of lemon juice for as long as I can, but even 10 minutes will work fine.

001

After reading all the fuss over this syn free pulled pork, I had to trek to Tesco to try it! I couldn’t understand how something smothered in BBQ sauce could be free, but after checking and double checking using the Slimming World calculator it does seem to be true! You can get this in the frozen section of Tesco for ยฃ3.50. We had this for dinner on Sunday and my husband was a massive fan! Me, not so much. I found it to be way too fatty and only had a tiny bit of meat because of this. You could remove all the fat and be left with a  decent sized portion, but it instantly put me off.  Worth trying though!

Does anyone have suggestions for lunches and dinners Slimming World style?

The Southside Girl x

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

