Fat Fighting Friday – Weeks 6 and 7

Sorry about the radio silence last week folks! Got to admit, after weigh in last Thursday, where I lost yet another half a pound, I was a bit disheartened and decided to take a wee break and refocus.

On Friday, I had my usual trip to Curves Shawlands for my workout and my first months weigh and measure. I was absolutely dreading it – mainly because I was in such a downer after only having lost the half a pound the day before. Well…. I cried after getting my measurements. Over the moon doesn’t even cover it:

Bust – Lost 1.75 inches 

Waist – Lost 1.5 inches

Abdomen – Lost 2.5 inches

Hips – Lost 1.5 inches

Thighs (x2) – Lost 5.00 inches

Arms (x2) – Lost 0.5 inches

Total loss of inches in 4 weeks – 12.75INCHES!!

I have also lost 9.5lbs in the 4 weeks since joining Curves, my body fat percentage has dropped by over 2% and my BMI has dropped 2 points aswell. All i can say is definitely take your measurements! I was so close to giving the diet up but after finding out my measurements it gave me the kick up the arse that I (desperately)needed.

So, after this I went home with a new determination. I knew I only needed 2.5lbs to get my 1stone shiney, and i needed to get it this week for my own sanity! So i wrote out a meal plan, stuck to it all week (even taking my wee Tupperware dishes full of SW food when I was out with my friends and to a BBQ – don’t worry, they laughed and made fun of me too) and began writing a food diary again this week. I also tried to up my water intake as I’ve found Diet Coke (which Im slightly addicted to) has started playing havoc with my body and is really affecting me migraine-wise. I had no Diet Coke for 4 days this week and felt a million times better for it… (Although I did celebrate my weight loss today…with a diet coke. What.a.twat.)

Anyways, onto weigh in today. Well I am now the proud new owner of these….

001

I stepped on those scales…praying for the 2.5lbs. And I nearly cried when I realised I’d lost a whopping 5lbs!!

Yup, FIVE WHOLE POUNDS!

Plus, I got Slimmer of the Week which I never expected to get!! Over the moon!! That takes my overall weight loss to 1stone 2.5lbs in 7 weeks. I have 4.5lbs to my next shiney (1and a half stone) but am being realistic that next week I will probably either have a small loss or a maintain to even things out a bit. But, I’ll set a wee target of 1.5lbs off, because that’ll take me into the next stone bracket. YAY!

What I’ve Been Munching:

We had a taster at class last week and I stressed out the whole week before it trying to decide what to make. I’m not the best cook…my own children and husband rarely, (okay, never) eat my concoctions so I was terrified of letting other people try it – and risk food poisoning! So i decided I’d keep it simple and make up an easy cous cous salad. Well, it went down amazingly! People really seemed to love it, and it’s so quick, easy and filling so I thought I’d share the recipe on here (Sorry, no pics, it got munched too quickly 😉 )

What you need:

Cous Cous (amount depending on how hungry you are 😉 )

500ml of vegetable stock

1 onion (chopped)

1 clove of garlic (peeled and chopped)

1 pepper chopped (or you can use frozen peppers)

1/2 can of chickpeas (drained)

Fry Light

Handful of cherry tomatoes (halved)

1 lemon (or lemon juice)

What you do:

Make up your vegetable stock using boiling water and a vegetable stock cube.

Empty the desired amount of couscous into a bowl and pour over the stock until it is about an inch above the couscous. Cover the bowl with cling film and leave.

Meanwhile, fry your garlic and onion in fry light for 2 minutes before adding your peppers and frying for another 5 minutes until soft. Add half a can of drained chickpeas and cook until soft (about another 5-7minutes)

Remove cling film from bowl of couscous and fluff up with a fork. If the couscous seems too dry, simply add more stock and leave again. Once it is ready, add the cooked vegetables and stir through.

Then add the halved cherry tomatoes and the juice of 1 lemon and mix through.

Can be eaten hot or cold.

So the plan this week is to just stick to plan! I have a hen night on Saturday but am planning on being on my best behaviour (ha.ha. I know) The hubby also stops work for two weeks holidays tomorrow so am dreading him being about as he is very persuasive when it comes to the old “let’s just have a takeaway…” chat.

On that same note, I have never ever weighed less than P. When we first started going out (okay, we were 16) he had a 28inch waist and was ridiculously skinny. Just saying Mr M… you better watch your back 😉

5-lbs-of-fat

Onwards and downwards… I’m a happy camper today.

I'm this happy :)

I’m this happy 🙂

Hope all your weight loss journeys are going well! Would love to hear how any of you are getting on! And if you are having a bad week – don’t give up. Try and stay to group, write a food diary again and stick to it. You’ll be back on track before you know it.

The Southside Girl x

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

